Love Language

“Yes, love? I was busy but I’m always interested in what you have to say.

I saw that on my twitter feed today and it grabbed me. This is precisely my love language. What is yours? I first became aware of the concept of “love languages” back about 10 years ago when I read Dr. Gary Chapman’s bestseller.


There are 5 love languages:

  1. Words of affirmation
  2. Quality time
  3. Receiving gifts
  4. Acts of service
  5. Physical touch







To be clear, this idea refers to how one feels loved, not how one shows love. I may show I love someone in a way i.e. a language, that does not cause him to feel loved. For instance, I may naturally want to give someone a present as an expression of love. But, she may not feel loved unless I hug her when I see her. I think I’m loving him by spending money on a present for him. Yet, because that isn’t his love language, he doesn’t really feel  loved. Get it?

It took me quite a while, but #2 is mine: quality time which is explained so well here – “To your spouse, 20 minutes of your undivided attention – listening and conversing – is like a 20-minute refill of his or her love tank.” What is your love language?

Blessed is he who has his/her love language spoken to him/her every day.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s